Memorial Day Weekend

Saturday 5/29/2010 – Woke up at 6am and Mom, Sister, and I went to Grass Valley,CA to visit my Poppop.  We were able to help him get his kitchen cleaned up and some dusting done.  My grandpa is a bargain shopper.  Any time anything is on sale, he buys it.  The closet of the guest room is filled with toilet paper and paper towels.  Every cabinet in his kitchen is over flowing!  He’s always prepared!  I decided that I’m going to try and start buying up stuff when it’s on sale.  Since we have such a huge garage we have plenty of space for it.  Also, Poppop has a big freezer in garage that he isn’t using so Mom and I were thinking that we’d get it up here and start buying meat in bulk when its on sale and we’ll share the freezer. 
While going through closets I found a ton of board games and he gave them to me.  I got Pictionary, Boggle, Trivial Pursuit, Agrivation, and all kinds of other stuff.
Saturday night we went to Auburn and had dinner at Sizzler with my Great Uncle Lenny and Great Aunt Mary.  It was nice, we sat and ate and talked for a few hours.  I miss seeing everyone on a regular basis.
Saturday night was also the first time I’ve ever had a real conversation with Poppop regarding his brain tumor.  Before I was born he had a brain tumor removed and it cause the left side of his body to be a bit off.  He has an eye that doesn’t open much, his mouth is droopy, and he can’t hear out of his left ear.  I’ve never really asked about it but it was interesting for him to explain it to me.  We also talked about his cancer.  I asked if he was in a lot of pain and he said not really.  Most of his pain is caused but other things. 
We stayed the night till Sunday morning.

Sunday 5/30/2010 – So making a random comment on my friend Anne’s Facebook saying “You’re in town!  We should hang!” or something like that apparently means “Hey, you’re in town!  Let’s have a party at my house and not tell me!”  LOL Anne lives and works in Washington DC and she was in town this weekend.  We ended up having a last minute get together at my house.  It was a lot of fun.  We played Buzz, Pictionary, and Kings Cup.  Drunkeness ensued. 

Monday 5/31/2010 – I went up to my Mom’s house to have a BBQ.  I made some “Devilish Eggs” from a Hungry Girl recipe.  YUCK! Instead of using the egg yolks you make a cauliflower mixture which sounded okay at the time but boy oh boy was I wrong.  Thankfully I had reserved the yolks and was able to make them into real devilled eggs.
Mom made bacon wrapped steaks.  YUM.  Good and unhealthy!  Sis made her famous Cabbage and Potato pie.  So good, I’ll have to get the recipe to post. 
While dinner was cooking we watch marathons of “Hoarders” and “Pawn Stars”.  Now I am addicted to both those shows.
Lastly, Mom made the most amazing home made strawberry shortcake with homemade whip cream and biscuit shortcake.  WOW! I think it’s my new favorite desert!

Leave a Reply

