A Home Without Books is a Body Without Soul

Reading is my absolute favorite pastime.  I can never understand what people mean when they say that they hate to read.  It’s magical.  Cheesy but true.

Choosing a favorite book is tough one for me.  I read so many books that I lose track.  I am not a picky reader. If someone suggests a book they think is good, I’ll give it a shot.  Any genre.

Choosing my favorite genre is a much easier task than choosing just one book.  Dystopian novels are my favorite.  For those who don’t know, a dystopia is, in literature, an often futuristic society that has degraded into a repressive and controlled state, often under the guise of being utopian.  Most high school English classes have read a few dystopian novels such as Fahrenheit 451, 1984, and of course, Lord of the Flies.

I don’t know what it is about these types of books but they fascinate me.  It intrigues me how so many people can have a different idea of what a utopia is.  The novels that have a futuristic, post-apocalyptic setting are incredible.  To think that some person has a vision of what they think the future might be.  Many of these novels were written years ago and their “far distant future” was our present.  I like to compare today’s world to the worlds of some of those books.

I am completely off topic now.  The question was, what are my favorite books.  I have a list, in no particular order.  I know there are books missing from this list, and I also am going to say that they obviously aren’t all dystopian novels.  Of course I also admit to enjoying books that aren’t technically “well written”.

  • Children of Men by PD James
  • Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling
  • Host by Stephenie Meyer
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  • The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
  • Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer

I highly recommend all these books and I would love to get reading suggestions!

Leave a Reply

