I am in you Chicago

Let’s see… How shall I begin?

Oh yes. Chicago! I am in you!

I’m in Chicago because Bobby’s work sent him here for a couple weeks and I thought, ‘Hey, why don’t I go to Chicago for a few days? It’s not like I’m in the middle of moving, remodeling a house, and stressing about math finals.’ Except that I am in the middle of moving, remodeling a house and stressing about math finals. But that’s another post. Today’s post is about Chicago and what I did today because I am pissed at myself for not blogging my Boston trip in detail (or at all, but hopefully I’ll get to it soon.)

Anywhozle…

Chicago. Well, Schaumburg, Illinois to be exact, which is just a small part of Chicago Land. The hotel we are staying in is SpringHill Suites and I love it. It really isn’t anything fancy but it feels homey and comfy. The decor is very mod and that’s something I love. Pictures are coming soon.

Since Bobby was still working today, I was on my own. I woke up at 9:30 central (which is 7:30 PST so in reality I was up quite early) and got myself together for the free breakfast they offered downstairs. Of course breakfast was over so I decided to forgo the most important meal of the day and go shopping.

Incidentally, our hotel is near Woodfield Mall which is the second largest mall in North America, I hopped in a cab and headed there. It was enormous! I mean, I knew it was big but I didn’t know it’d be THAT big. (that’s what she said, giggity). There were many stores that we have back home but a few I’d never been to. Z Gallerie is one of the coolest furniture stores I’ve ever been in. I loved it. I’ve been to Anthropologie’s website a few times and was extremely excited to finally get to browse in person. Unfortunately since I’m flying home I had to limit my purchases which ended up being some super cute shoes from Charming Charlie, a puzzle game from a store called Marbles that sold all kinds of brain games, a Harry Potter version of the board game Clue from a game and hobby shop, and a non-Chicago “souvenir” for a friend.

One rule I try to make for myself when I travel is to never eat at an establishment I can easily visit at home. I’m usually quite good at sticking to this rule but the mall didn’t have a lot of dining options despite the fact that it’s so damn big. I ended up at Ruby Tuesday and had turkey burger sliders. I know it’s a huge chain but in my defense, I’ve never eaten there and we don’t have them back home.

After shopping my day was at a bit of a stand still. I headed back to the hotel until Bobby got off work. The entire time I was reading and watching TV I was internally driving myself crazy thinking of everything I should be doing at home.

Bobby got back just after 5 and we headed out to dinner. We went to Cooper’s Hawk Winery & Restaurant. The place was really cool. They make all their own wine and barrels of it line the walls. I had a glass of Moscato and it was probably the best Moscato I’ve had (which may not mean anything since I’ve only had a few).

Dinner starts off with bread and butter at the table, but not just any bread. This was PRETZEL bread and it was fracking amazing. I made Bobby a promise to try out a few pretzel bread recopies.

We ordered chicken pot stickers as a starter and they were awesome. Pot stickers are usually hit or miss for me but these were the best I’ve had which is saying something.

On to the entrees. Bobby ordered pretzel crusted pork tenderloin and it was great. I’ve never had pork that Was so moist and flavorful. I ordered a delicious Chicken Saltimbocca and I enjoyed it but as usual Bobby won the ordering award because his was way better.

We shared a Creme Brûlée and it was good. I’ve only ever had it twice so I am no expert but it tasted good.

Weirdly enough, the highlight of the day was our visit to Ikea. I have never been to an Ikea before, I have been missing out! The Ikea here in Schaumburg, IL happens to be the largest in North America. Three stories of awesome! Bobby and I have dubbed Ikea our new favorite store and we will quickly be making a trip to Sacramento which holds the nearest Ikea to home.

Tomorrow we head to downtown Chicago.

Leave a Reply

